Summer in Galway 2017

Summer in Galway 2017

News & Events

What’s on in Galway this Summer:

Darkness Into Light 4.15am Saturday 6th May 2017

Banff Mountain Film Festival World Tour Wednesday 10th May 2017

Gospel Rising Choir Festival Fri 12th – Sun 14th May 2017

Reel Lives Film Festival Weds 17th-Fri 19th May 2017

Galway Early Music Festival Fri 19th – Sun 21st May 2017

Friends of Merlin Woods Biodiversity Week Mon 22nd – Sun 28th May 2017

Claddagh Traditional Boat Festival Weds 24th – Sun 28th May 2017

Shantalla Festival Weekend Fri 26th – Sun 28th May 2017

Galway African Film Festival Fri 26th-Sun 28th May 2017

Galway Burlesque Festival Fri 26th – Sun 28th May 2017

Conamara Bog Week Sun 28th May – Mon 5th June 2017

Galway Juggling Convention Fri 2nd – Mon 5th June 2017

Fives for Lives Soccer tournament in aid of Pieta House Sat 3rd June 2017

Galway Bike Week Tues 6th – Mon 12th June 2017

Free Entry to all OPW Attractions Wednesday 7th June 2017

Cong-Galway Sailing Race Saturday 10th June 2017

Street Feast Sunday 11th June 2017

Little Cinema & Galway City of Film 48 Hour Challenge Fri 16th-Sun 18th June 2017

Longest Day Swim Sat 17th June 2017

Irish Cancer Society 5k Colour Dash NUIG Sunday 18th June 2017

Dip in the Nip for Charity Sunday 18th June 2017

Seafest Fri 30th June – Sun 2nd July 2017

Free Entry to all OPW Attractions Wednesday 5th July 2017

Galway Film Fleadh Tues 11th – Sun 16th July 2017

Westside Arts Festival Tues 11th – Sat 15th July 2017

Galway Fringe Festival Mon 17th – Sun 30th July 2017

Galway International Arts Festival Mon 17th – Sun 30th July 2017

Galway Races Horse Racing Festival Mon 31st July- Sun 6th August 2017

Free Entry to all OPW Attractions Wednesday 2nd August 2017

Galway Pride Festival Fri 11th – Sun 20th August 2017

Streets of Galway 8km Race 7pm Saturday 12th August 2017

Cruinniú na mBád Kinvara Fri 18th – Sun 20th August 2017

Galway Heritage Week Saturday 19th – Sunday 27th August 2017

Lots of these festivals and events need volunteers to help out so please give them a shout if you are available to lend a hand!

There are also lots of charitable organisations looking for volunteers to help out. Check the NUIG ALIVEwebsite for volunteering opportunities.

If you just can’t wait to get back to NUI Galway here’s the Semester Dates for 2017/18. Start your countdown!

Artice by
Joanna Brophy